The Argentine wins the 67th edition of the Ballon d’Or

Lionel Messi wins the Ballon d’Or for the eighth time. The Inter Miami striker and captain of the World Cup winning national team Argentina succeeds Frenchman Karim Benzema. The 36-year-old from Rosario accepted the award at the Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris from Manchester United legend David Beckham, now president of Messi’s team in Miami. “All the Ballon d’Ors are important to me, on this day I can’t help but think of Maradona.” With this, Leo remembers the former Pibe de Oro, who would have been 63 years old today. “I would like to thank all the people who voted for me and gave me this award. “I owe this trophy to my teammates and the Argentine national team for what we achieved together during the World Cup.” Messi won the trophy in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019 and 2021.

Behind the multiple champions is the Norwegian Erling Haaland, winner of the last Champions League with Manchester City, while on the last step of the podium is the Frenchman Kylian Mbappé from PSG.

The best female soccer player is still a Spaniard: Barcelona midfielder Aitana BonmatThe, protagonist of the World Cup victory with his national team and with the Champions League club team. The 25-year-old succeeds her compatriot Alexia Putellas, who won the previous two editions, for her first Ballon d’Or.


Aitana Bonmati wins the Golden Ball as the best player in 2023

The Gerd Muller Award 2023, dedicated to the best goalscorer for club and country, goes to Norwegian Manchester City striker Erling Haaland. “I thank Manchester City and my family and everyone who is close to me,” Haaland said after receiving the trophy for her 56 goals scored last season.

Erling Haaland celebrates after his goal Getty Images

Erling Haaland celebrates after his goal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *